lew-d:

      Darcy nods, considering Maria’s point. She understands it completely.    

                 “I can see why it would. But. I have faith in them. Both of them. I think they know the greater good is more important than their respective egos. And if they don’t… well. That’s what I’m here for.”

      She realizes she’s in a very unique position, most people stand on one side or the other of the Stark or Osborn fence, but Darcy can’t choose. Won’t choose. So far it’s been innocent enough, but something tells her there may come a time when it’ll become a serious problem.

                “I don’t mean everything everything. I don’t think you have to be concerned though. They’ll have people watching them, you and the rest of SHIELD included, I’m sure.”

                 There are people who see the best in others. Who refuse to think anything but positive thoughts in regards to the capabilities a person might or might not have. Valiant, sure. Admirable, yes, but Maria Hill didn’t get her job by thinking Tony Stark shits marshmallow fluff. 

     “I’ll be concerned,” Maria affirms. “It’s my job to be. People aren’t exactly one hundred percent trustworthy.” She’s not sure if them having supervision is advantageous or NOT.

               “There’s no harm in my being cautiously optimistic. Or pessimistic, depending on how you look at it. Either way– something goes wrong? S.H.I.E.L.D. is waiting in the wings, ready to sweep up the pieces.”

She sighs.

                     “I’m not saying they’ll fail– but if they do, you know where you heard it first.”

Leave a Reply

